Digital corpus of Saint-Germain-en-Laye: the history of the palace, its gardens, and the creation of the Museum of National Antiquities
Establishment of a digital corpus dedicated to Saint-Germain-en-Laye: the history of the palace, its gardens, and the creation of the Museum of National Antiquities
The very rich history of the Saint-Germain-en-Laye Palace, which dates back to the 12th century, has largely been ignored after the palace’s transformation into the Museum of Archeology. It is currently referenced only on a series of pedagogical panels, previously regrouped in a ground-floor room, by a model of Saint-Germain’s 17th-century site conserved in the chapel, and by a series of Plexiglas panels – barely visible – within each room of the museum.
In the framework of a new scholarly and cultural project establishing a pole of documentary resources, a digitized corpus of sources and documentation dedicated to the history of the Saint-Germain palace, its gardens, and the birth of the Museum of Celtic and Gallo-Roman Antiquities, at the initiative of Napoleon III, in 1862, is being developed.
The project provides a tangible example – the disappearance of vestiges and material traces of a past narrowly connected to the history of the state at the highest level – of the cluster’s general reflection on the mediations of history in the present.
Hilaire MULTON, Head, National Archeology Museum -National domain of Saint-Germain-en-Laye
Internal cluster partners
National Archeology Museum -National domain of Saint-Germain-en-Laye
French National Library
Maison Archeology and Ethnology, René-Ginouvès
Laboratory of Rhône-Alpes Historical Research (LARHRA)
General Council of Yvelines (departmental archives)
Center of Baroque Music of Versailles (research pole)
Duration: 4 years